The 6th House: You Better Work It

Time is on my side By setting a routine for yourself you structure time in a personal way. You decide what you are going to dedicate yourself to, what you are going to be in service to. Every skill or technique requires time, practice and repetition to master. The things that you do every day, […]

Related posts:

  1. Rambling about Pluto in the Second House
  2. Following the Ruler of the 8th House to Where Transformation Begins
  3. What does it mean to have so many planets in the 8th house?

Do You “Believe” in Astrology?

To many, astrology is anything but a language. This misunderstanding has turned astrology into a kind of symbolic scapegoat, confusing it with new age, mumbo jumbo, psychobabble, evil occultism. …most astrological authors don’t Talk Normal or Write Well, thereby unleashing far too many garrulous tomes called Most Astrology Books. It’s no wonder why so many […]

Related posts:

  1. I’ma Be Me Astrology
  2. Astrologese: Speaking Your Language

Mars Synastry: 1st House Overlay

Mars brings an assertive, aggressive, active, challenging and energizing influence to your 1st house. The 1st house is about appearance, behavior, attitude, mannerisms, approach, outlook, exterior, image, persona and personality. Someone’s Mars falls in your 1st house Around the Mars person you’re more likely to act on your 1st house sign’s positive and negative potentials […]

Related posts:

  1. The Moon in Synastry
  2. House Overlays in Synastry
  3. Mars Synastry: 12th House Overlay

Venus Archetype: How & Where We Must Develop In Love

Each planetary archetype represents a pathway of growth. As the goddess of love and beauty, Venus sets our path through matters pertaining to our heart and aesthetic sensitivity.

The Natal Placement of Venus: How & Where We Must Develop In Love

Venus’ sign defines how best we experience emotional connection with others, whereas its house placement suggests what area we’ll need to focus on in order to develop our capacity for love. Here we’ll group the measurements by several key themes:

Theme #1: Greater Self Acceptance

Those with natal Venus in Fire signs (Aries, Leo, Sagittarius) need to feel accepted, loved and honored for who they are. In order to have others love and honor them, however, they first need to love and accept themselves.

Similarly, Venus in 1st house requires working on loving oneself. Often there is a negative self image that prevents one to receive love from others – so this must be eliminated first through cultivating self acceptance, and positive self talk.

To whatever degree we have been able to accept and love ourselves, we’ll be able to generously share that love and acceptance with others.

Theme #2: Emotional Healing

Those with Venus in Water signs (Cancer, Scorpio, Pisces) need to be comfortable with their own vulnerability, lest they choose to build walls around their heart, or altogether shy away from relationships. Any past hurts need to be healed so that they don’t taint the present relationships.

Venus in 4th house requires deeper acceptance of one’s roots. There may be painful memories associated with one’s parents that might lead to a feeling of guilt or shame around one’s family.

By working on emotional wholeness, we open ourselves to greater intimacy with others. We’ll be able to heal from our past hurts without holding on to them.
Theme #3: Expressing Appreciation

Those with Venus in Air signs (Gemini, Libra, Aquarius) especially need to be appreciated by others. In order to receive appreciation, however, they need to first learn to give it. This means becoming more tuned in to what makes other people interesting, helpful or special, and developing the habit of speaking appreciatively of their contribution.

Those with Venus in 7th or 11th house similarly need to learn to build up their partners and friends before being able to experience the reciprocal appreciation.

Cultivating the habit of appreciating others will serve to attract the same in return, as well as transform the negative, critical thought patterns into positive, edifying ones.

Theme #4: Practical Contribution

Those with Venus in Earth signs (Taurus, Virgo, Capricorn) place greater value on practical contributions as opposed to warm emotions and loving words. Whether it’s by taking care of the family financially, fixing things around the house, or helping someone stay organized, their contributions need to have tangible results in order to be satisfying.

Those with Venus in 2nd, 6th or 10th house more or less need to feel that they can contribute in a real way. For them, financial success may become one indicator to assess their level of contribution to the world.

Through helping our partners in a solid way, we learn that love can be shown through silent, every day contribution.


Whether through greater self acceptance, emotional healing, appreciation or contribution, we increase our capacity to love through developing in the ways suggested by our Venus’ natal placement. While it’s not possible to please everyone, enough of “right people” will come into our lives as we continue this journey of the heart, so that we’ll always have people to love.